A Pledge to America: A Plan to Stop Out of Control Spending and Reduce the Size of Government

Well, this should be interesting.   Republicans talking about reducing the size of government.   Let’s see if they want to close down the department of education, health and human services, & homeland security, among others.  Let’s make the Federal Reserve go away, why don’t we.  There’s a radical idea!  Let’s see how this proposal works out…  (Full text of the Pledge here)

Page 20  Washington’s out-of-control spending spree needs no introduction. Yeah.  No kidding – tell me something I don’t already know.

It isn’t just that we need to stop spending so much – we need to stop spending so irrationally. Are you kidding me?  “It isn’t just”?!?  That is the whole point!  So what if we mis-spend some money in my estimation?  I have some blow money in my budget that I get to spend however I choose.  My wife goes and buys groceries.  She may buy some things that seem “unwise” or “irrational” to you, but she stays within her budget.  Rationality is not the problem – “rationally” spending way more than you take in is.

Unfortunately, Washington Democrats refuse to listen to the American people and eliminate, restrain, or even budget for their out-of-control spending spree. You seem to have left out the Republican overspending there, buddy.

Page 21 There is no reason to wait to reduce wasteful and unnecessary spending. Congress should move immediately to cancel unspent “stimulus” funds, and block any attempts to extend the timeline for spending “stimulus” funds. Goes without saying.  Perhaps destimulating the economy will actually stimulate it.

With common-sense exceptions for seniors, veterans, and our troops, we will roll back government spending to pre-stimulus, pre-bailout levels, saving us at least $100 billion in the first year alone and putting us on a path to begin paying down the debt, balancing the budget, and ending the spending spree in Washington that threatens our children’s future. Seniors?  Who are we talking about?  Raising Social Security payments?  Oh wait, Social Security is about 20% of the budget, Defense is about 20% and Veterans benefits is about 7%, so what you are saying is “Sure, we are OK to increase spending on nearly half the budget!” (I got my numbers here) Doesn’t make sense to me.

We will set strict budget caps to limit federal spending on an annual basis. Really.  Unless you say it is an “emergency” and then we don’t have to worry about where the money comes from…  I’ll believe it when I see it.

I would continue to comment, but I am getting aggravated at what I am reading so far, so I leave the analysis of the rest of this section to you.  There are several other items listed: Establish a Hard Cap on New Discretionary Spending, Cut Government Spending to Pre-Stimulus, Pre-Bailout Levels, Hold Weekly Votes on Spending Cuts. Sounds nice and all, and even some of it is good beginning measures, but based on the two pages I have seen above, this is more talk and not a substantial change.

This section’s grade: D – Did not Digest Due to Disgust.

Leave a Reply

