A Pledge to America: Final Thoughts

This is the part of the series where I look back over the entire Pledge to America and sum up.  Here are my thoughts, in no particular order:

I was not sure what I was expecting, but there were almost no concrete actions promised in the entire document.  That could be a move to avoid a “Read my lips, no new taxes” statement, but I was hoping for something more specific.  A Pledge to America purports to be Republican goals, but they are not very measurable.

I was deeply disturbed by the healthcare section.  The ideas endorsed, such as healthcare as a right are directly from the liberal and progressive playbook.  The notion that the federal government should be involved in my healthcare was not soundly rejected.  Medicare and Medicaid were not offered for reform and the budgetary chopping block.  The underlying belief was that government intervention and regulation was desirable and necessary, when in fact it is not.

One quote from page 3 stood out to me: We make this pledge bearing true faith and allegiance to the people we represent, and we invite fellow citizens and patriots to join us in forming a new governing agenda for America. How about I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same?

I was disappointed in the national security section.  Only declarations of support of the Border Patrol from my list of things I wanted to see made the Pledge.

The section to promote job growth through less regulation and freezing taxes at the current level was good.  The section on controlling spending and reducing the size of government was another head burial in the sand.  It really was a commitment to freeze spending on only half the federal budget.

In summation, I think that this Pledge is an attempt to rally the troops, to hang the prospect of another “Contract with America” type document in front of the voters.  (Now I haven’t read the Contract with America myself, so I’m going off of other’s commentary)  I do not see a real change of heart in the underlying policies and baseline thoughts and assumptions by the Republican Party.  I still see a commitment to big government solutions and expanding government roles.  I do not see a strict Constitutional mindset.  The Pledge to America is not the change I am looking for.

-BattleBlue1

Leave a Reply

